The maximum fine for a misdemeanor DUI is $2,500. Bear in mind, however, that the costs related to evaluations, treatment, and reporting to county offices can easily total another $3,000.
While you often might not be sentenced to jail on a first offense, a first time DUI is a Class A Misdemeanor with a potential jail term of up to one year.
The answer is generally not. Some defendants believe that the prosecution will realize police made a mistake and drop the charges, but that just doesn’t happen here. The charges may be dropped if your attorney can successfully petition the court to suppress the evidence from the arrest because of faulty police procedure.
Under limited circumstances with the help of an experienced attorney, you may be able to get the charges reduced in exchange for pleading guilty.
If your DUI is a felony, you may be arraigned early on. The arraignment gives you the opportunity to plead guilty or not guilty. Generally, you will want to obtain an attorney and enter a plea of not guilty even if you intend to negotiate a plea bargain at a later date.
First time DUI is a Class A Misdemeanor. Later DUI offenses can be charged as felonies. Therefore, a DUI is a criminal as well as a traffic offense.
The Illinois Secretary of State automatically suspends your driver’s license beginning on the 46th day after your arrest. You may try to have the suspension overturned. Your best chance to do so lies in hiring an attorney immediately after your arrest.
The Secretary of State automatically suspends your driver’s license on the 46th day after your arrest. In order to drive, you need to either 1) petition the court to overturn the suspension or 2) obtain a permit from the Secretary of State to use a Breath Activated Interlock Ignition Device (a type of breathalyzer on ... more
Yes. Many judges will require you to obtain a lawyer. An attorney can review your case for your best possible defense. Did the police have probable cause to stop you? Was your driving truly impaired? Even if the evidence against you is overwhelming, an attorney who is respected in the courthouse may be able to ... more
Under the Zero Tolerance policy, the Illinois Secretary of State will automatically suspend the license of any driver under age 21, who has been caught drinking or even carrying open alcohol in the passenger compartment of their car. You need not be anywhere close to the .08 breathalyzer limit to lose your license. Any trace ... more