If the Defendant is not released from the police station, then he or she will be given a court appearance to set a bail amount, usually on the Court’s next business day. At this stage, an experienced attorney can make a difference by presenting the defendant’s situation in the light most favorable to obtain a reduced bond.
Illinois law prohibits an attorney from posting bail on behalf of a client. Illinois also prohibits the use of private bail bondsmen.
To post bond, check the type of bond that your loved one received. An I-bond means a defendant can be released on their own personal recognizance. No money is required. A D-Bond means that you must post ten (10%) percent of the bail amount. A C-Bond means that you must post the entire bail.
Once bail is set, you may post as follows:
COOK COUNTY: Bonds may be posted at Division V of the Cook County Jail, 2700 S. California, Chicago, IL 60608. Between 8:30 a.m. and 3 p.m., you may post at the Skokie, Rolling Meadows, Maywood, Bridgeview or Markham courthouses. Payments must be made either in cash or by credit card. Certified checks are permitted only during normal banking hours at the Jail offices. For further information, see Cook County Bond.
DUPAGE COUNTY: Bond may be posted 24 hours a day/7 days a week. Bond must be paid in either cash, certified check, cashier’s check, money order or credit card. Any certified/cashier’s checks or money orders must be made out to the Clerk of the Court 18th Judicial District. In addition, you must include a $30 fee for each bond set in your check, cash or money order. For credit cards, there are additional fees. You must bring appropriate photo identification to verify your credit card. You may not combine a credit card payment with another form of payment. The entire amount must be placed on the credit card.
For more information, see DuPage County Bond.
KANE COUNTY: First, you must verify the bond by using the website’s Detainee Search Feature. Bond must be paid in cash or by credit card. There is a $50 processing fee. You must have the bond and the processing fee in the exact amount as officers cannot make change.
Bonds can be paid on line at www.CourtMoney.com. Click on Make a Payment. You will need a form ID given to you by the Kane County Sheriff.
For further information, see Kane County Sheriff.
LAKE COUNTY: Bonds may be posted 24 hours a day/7 days a week at the Lake County Jail, 20 S. County St. Waukegan, IL 60085, 847-377-4188. The bond must be paid in either cash or cashier’s check made out to Lake County Circuit Court or through the JPAY Online. In addition, you must pay a $21 processing fee to the Lake County Sheriff’s office in either cash or a separate cashier’s check. For further information, see Lake County Sheriff.
MCHENRY COUNTY: Bond may be posted 24 hours a day at the McHenry County Sheriff’s Department Adult Correctional Facility at 2200 N. Seminary Ave., Woodstock, IL 60098, 815.338.2144. Bond may be paid by cash, traveler’s checks, or credit card (MasterCard, Visa, Discover). Cashier’s checks may be accepted on a case by case basis after obtaining approval from the Circuit Clerk’s Office. Credit cards will be charged a fee. In addition, you must pay a $28.00 bail bond processing fee. For more information, see McHenry County Sheriff.
WILL COUNTY: Bond may be posted 24 hours a day/7 days a week at the Will County Adult Detention Facility Bond Lobby, 95 S. Chicago, Joliet, IL 60436, 1-815-727-8596. Bond may be paid in the exact amount by cash or credit card. For more information, see Will County Sheriff.
See our related blog posts: Do I Need an Attorney for a Bond Hearing? and My Loved One Has Been Arrested! Police Custody and the Bond Hearing.
©2020 Matt Keenan. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this website should not be construed as formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship